Knowledge is power!

Following in the footsteps of Alexander the Great, I traveled from Greece to Egypt this month (July 2016) and visited the magnificent library in Alexandria, the city which he founded.  More than 2300 years ago, the ancient library on this site was the world’s largest repository of ancient knowledge. By 400 A.D. the library had vanished. The new library opened in 2002.

The idea of a universal library, like that of Alexandria, arose only after the Greek mind had begun to envisage and encompass a larger worldview. The Greeks were impressed by the achievements of their neighbours, and many Greek intellectuals sought to explore the resources of “Oriental” knowledge.

The cruise ships have stopped coming to Alexandria, citing concerns about violence, and so I suspect that this port city is suffering under the same economic woes as Cairo and the Red Sea resorts from the lack of tourism. There were many Egyptians visiting the library on the day I was there, but I saw only a handful of foreigners.

IMG_5752

Egyptians taking their selfies in front of the Library of Alexandria

Knowledge is power; making knowledge univerally accessible to anyone with a computer is a powerful act of generosity and love.

I learned from our tour guide that the Library of Alexandria is part of the World Digital Library started by the US Library of Congress. The library has a very active project to digitize resources from many countries, and our guide asked us which country we would like to search in the library’s database as an example. I said “Palestine.” She smiled and typed in Palestine, and up came the list of books and manuscripts that have been digitized to date.

IMG_5710

Permanent art exhibits at the Library of Alexandria

Libraries and librarians have always been special in my heart, and that might explain why I think the CPDS Library in Gaza is so extraordinarily important. Israel can stop the flow of people, concrete and sugar, but it can’t stop the flow of information. Israel’s 20th century strategies — occupation, siege, blockade and humiliation — will backfire in the 21st century.  Now anyone in Gaza connected to the Internet will be able to access:

The Digital Assets Repository, the Wellcome Arabic Manuscripts Online, the Institut du Monde Arabe Book Collection, the Digital Library of Inscriptions and Calligraphies, the President Mohamed Naguib Digital Archives, the President Gamal Abdel Nasser Digital Archives, the Science Supercourse Project, the Encyclopedia of Life, the Universal Networking Language Project (my favorite), and much more.

IMG_5702

World’s largest public reading room.

I can imagine space aliens from the future uncovering this library in Alexandria one day, very much as we’ve uncovered the archaeological treasures from the past, and thinking “a society that valued books and knowledge must have been very enlightened.”

Unfortunately, Israel’s occupation and siege of the Gaza Strip prove otherwise. An enlightened society does not treat Palestinians as inhumanely as Israel does. Israel is building a legacy of a very different sort.

I bought a postcard at the library’s gift store, addressed it to the orphanage in Gaza, and then stepped outside into the blazing heat of the afternoon sun to mail it. Maybe Israel will allow my postcard to enter Gaza, maybe not, but that won’t stop the Postcard Brigade.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Egypt, Gaza, Israel, Peaceful, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Knowledge is power!

  1. I hadn’t heard anything from you recently Lora, and wondered if you were O.K. I too sent a post card to the orphanage you requested… I havn’t heard back from them? I’ve been greatly encouraged by such recent actions as was taken by the Celtic football team, (and other athletes) in support of Palestine at the Olympics, and by those that are posting their photos on FB as part of the #selfieforPalestine effort. And the BDS is becomming more and more powerful. I hope you are safe. Know that I look forward to your continued writing.

    In solidarity, MJ

    • Thank you Michael. I really appreciate you sending a postcard to the orphanage. I’m communicating with the Director and he has promised me that he will let me know when (if) he receives any postcards. In June or July, I read a report that Israel was stopping all delivery of mail to Gaza. I don’t recall if my Postcard Brigade idea came before or after that announcement. But in either case, part of the reason for sending innocuous postcards with simple messages of support for Palestine, was to educate the Israeli censors. All of our postcards may be ending up in the trash in Tel Aviv where they are sorted by Israeli officials. But I believe it makes a difference. Thanks for participating.

Leave a comment