Join the Postcard Brigade to Gaza

Gaza Strip

The Gaza Strip is Israel’s manufactured prison for the nearly 1.8 million Palestinians who live there, of whom more than 1,258,000 are refugees. Their parents or grandparents were forcibly removed from their homes and villages in present-day Israel in 1948. Many have lived in Gaza their whole lives, never getting permission from Israel to cross the border, jump on a plane, train or board a cruise ship.

Unbelievably, Israel even controls the mail that goes to Gaza. Packages, letters and postcards all get stopped in Tel Aviv, then scanned, sometimes opened, and forwarded on to Gaza weeks later.

In August 2011, I mailed a box from the main post office in Cairo to Gaza (217 miles as the crow flies) and it arrived more than 2 months later. In March 2016, I tried to mail a package from the main post office in Cairo to Gaza, and was informed that they no longer accept packages addressed to Gaza.

Back in the U.S., I tried to mail a letter from Baltimore to Jericho, Palestine in the occupied West Bank. The postal clerk found “Palestine, Texas” in her computer, but not Jericho, or Palestine, or the occupied West Bank. She was stumped until I told her we could try sending it to Jericho via Israel.  My friend in Jericho finally received her letter more than 2 months later.

In Brindisi, Italy last week, I tried another experiment. I mailed a postcard to my friend in Gaza. Again, the postal clerk had no idea how to handle my request. Her computer just couldn’t find Gaza or Palestine. She passed me to another clerk who had the same problem. She finally decided to put the same amount of postage as if my card was going to the USA …. and then dumped it into her bag.

What if people from all over the world sent a postcard to Gaza?  

  • A simple exercise that might educate a local postal clerk about Gaza and Palestine.
  • An ingenuous way to get the attention of the Israeli authorities. Imagine their consternation with postcards addressed to Gaza flooding their office.
  • The simple joy of receiving a picture postcard from a stranger – a new friend – somewhere in the world.

If you want to join the postcard brigade, send a postcard to:

Alamal Orphanage

Wehdaa Street

Gaza, Palestine

If you care to share your experience at your local post office, please write me at LoraLucero3@gmail.com

You can send your postcard anonymously if you wish. If you’d like to hear about the reaction from the children in the orphanage, please send me your contact information.

Thank you!  And pass it along. The more postcards, the merrier!

302141_4779260885332_609743370_n

Lora with orphans in Gaza in 2012.

6 Comments

Filed under Gaza, Israel, nonviolent resistance, Occupation, Peaceful, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Join the Postcard Brigade to Gaza

  1. neuanarchist

    Thanks for this post. I am posting my card tomorrow.

  2. I’m asking the Orphanage in Gaza to take pictures of the postcards they receive to let me know which ones (and how many) actually arrived. I’ll post whatever information I receive from the orphanage here.

  3. Betsy Najjar

    Hello Lora, I’ll get five postcards from Old Town today and send them off this week. I’m going to take them to various post office branches around town as I go through my days this week. I’ll number them.
    Your collaboration with your colleagues in Gaza and your answer to your friends that you go to Gaza and Greece “to see for myself” have struck chords in me. I’m getting stronger this summer and I want West Asian exploration to be one of the great rewards.

  4. Greetings Lora, I found the same when I first tried to send a parcel to friends in Gaza City. The postal clerk’s computer here in Eastsound (Washington St.) did not recognize Palestine. This angered me deeply. We have found that sometimes our packages don’t arrive, and sometimes they do months later. Oftentimes they had contents stolen from them. I will do as you ask (an interesting experiment), and will put some extra postage on the card in an effort to see if it is delivered. I guess I’ll never know if it’s delivered or not.

    • I will ask people at the orphanage to take pictures of the postcards that arrive ….. that way we will know and I’ll post the photos here on the blog. Thanks for sending one.

Leave a Reply

