Day #18 – July 24, 2014 – What does Congress know?

I’m sharing my post from two years ago. Sadly, nothing much has changed for the Palestinians on the ground in Gaza. In fact, it’s only gotten worse.

Displaced Palestinian children from Beit Hanun in the northern Gaza Strip stand behind the window of a classroom on July 23, 2014 at a UN school in the refugee camp of Jabalia where displaced families have taken refuge after fleeing heavy fighting in the Gaza Strip. (Photo credit: Juliana Jiménez is a former Slate photo editor and now a contributor writing on Latin American politics and culture for the Slatest.)

Source: Day #18 – July 24, 2014 – What does Congress know?

Today marks the 18th day of Israel’s genocidal assault against the men, women and children in Gaza last summer.

No doubt, “purists” will object to this characterization, but I have no doubts that the intent and the impact was genocidal.

I visited Capitol Hill yesterday (July 23, 2015) to speak with my member of Congress about Israel and Palestine.  She knows of my interest (and hopefully my expertise) because we have talked about it many times, both in DC and in Albuquerque.  I was disappointed but understand why she wasn’t in her office yesterday when I arrived. Her daughter went into labor early and delivered her first grandchild, so she was on a plane headed back to Albuquerque. Congratulations!!

I sat with her legislative assistant for foreign affairs. John and I have talked several times, and I felt the meeting was a success because we’re building bridges.  I may not agree with every vote, but I believe in my Congresswoman’s sincerity when she says she wants to do the right thing. My job is to help her (and John) understand what is the right thing.

I shared the following letter and we discussed these points for nearly an hour.  My shock and dismay came when I asked whether Congress and/or staff have received any briefings about Israel’s Operation Protective Edge. John said they were briefed last summer during Israel’s military assault, but he’s not aware of any follow-up briefings since then.   Day #18 – July 24, 2014 – What does Congress know?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

