Day #32 – August 7, 2014 – “A Hideous Atrocity”

Professor Noam Chomsky was Amy Goodman’s guest on Democracy Now, on this date one year ago.  He spoke about Israel’s assault on Gaza.

Watch the video and/or read the transcript from that interview.

Professor Noam Chomsky (r.) and Dr. Eyad El-Sarraj (l.)

Professor Noam Chomsky (r.) and Dr. Eyad El-Sarraj (l.) in Gaza – October 2012

I met Noam Chomsky in October 2012, not at MIT where he is Professor Emeritus, not in Santa Fe at the Lensic Arts Center, nor in any of his many speaking engagements around the country.

I met Noam Chomsky in Gaza.  He was invited to speak at a conference held at the Islamic University of Gaza. Mohammed Awad, one of my first friends in Gaza, alerted me to Chomsky’s arrival and we both attended two of his talks.  I wrote about it here on my blog.

Mohammed Awad

Mohammed Awad

Two years earlier he had been invited to lecture in the West Bank by a Palestinian university, but Israel refused him permission to travel to the West Bank. Disgraceful!

When I remember that incident, I swing from anger at — to embarrassment for — the State of Israel.  No one does a better job at “delegitimzing” the State of Israel in the eyes of the community of nations, than Israel herself.

Professor Chomsky also spoke to a smaller group in Gaza at the House of Wisdom. Although it was difficult for me to hear him, he speaks so quietly, I was impressed with how well he listened to the young people and responded to them directly.

Chomsky speaking at House of Wisdom in Gaza

Chomsky speaking at House of Wisdom in Gaza

Professor Chomsky listening to young Palestinians.

Professor Chomsky listening to young Palestinians.

525676_4839470750541_609501141_n

I listened but did not engage in the conversation at The Wisdom House. I had a good chuckle when a participant asked me if I was Noam Chomsky’s wife.  (I was the only female Westerner in the room).

The House of Wisdom in Gaza

The House of Wisdom in Gaza

1 Comment

Filed under Gaza, Peaceful, People, Video

One response to “Day #32 – August 7, 2014 – “A Hideous Atrocity”

Leave a Reply

