Time for some compassion!

“L’Shana Tova” to my Jewish friends and family. “Kul ‘am wa enta bi-khair!” to my Muslim friends.

My gift to all of my observant Christian, Muslim and Jewish friends is this 22 minute TedTalk by Karen Armstrong where she talks about the common denominator between the three great Abrahamic religions – the Golden Rule.  You’ve probably heard of it but I bet you haven’t heard of the Charter for Compassion which Armstrong describes.

The Charter for Compassion is a document that transcends religious, ideological, and national differences. Supported by leading thinkers from many traditions, the Charter activates the Golden Rule around the world.

The Charter for Compassion is a cooperative effort to restore not only compassionate thinking but, more importantly, compassionate action to the center of religious, moral and political life. Compassion is the principled determination to put ourselves in the shoes of the other, and lies at the heart of all religious and ethical systems.

The U.S. Conference of Mayors has endorsed the Charter for Compassion. And there are tools for making compassionate communities, see here.

I’m not a believer in any religion. I try to live my life by the Golden Rule, and I think I could get behind the Charter for Compassion.

Leave a comment

Filed under Peaceful, People, Spiritual - Religion, Video

Leave a Reply

