Charter for Compassion

When people in Gaza ask me about my religious faith, I tell them that I am nominally a Christian.  I try to live my life by the Golden Rule, something that all major religious traditions share.  “Do unto others as I wish they would do unto me.”  I wrote about the Golden Rule in January.

This morning, I stumbled across this TEDTalk by Karen Armstrong.  She says “religion has been hijacked” and that many “religious people prefer to be right rather than compassionate.”

Karen says that the Golden Rule must be applied globally.  “Any ideology that doesn’t promote global understanding is failing the test of time.”

“We should not treat other nations as we do not want to be treated.   . . .  It is well past time to move beyond mere toleration, and move towards appreciation of the other.”   At the end of her short 20 minute talk, she urges people to support the charter for compassion.  The Charter for Compassion is a document that transcends religious, ideological and national differences.  Take a look here.

1 Comment

Filed under Peaceful, People, Spiritual - Religion, Video

One response to “Charter for Compassion

  1. Synchronicity: I just watched this TED talk this weekend, and felt Ms Armstrong was expressing my understanding of my Christian faith as well. It’s going up on my blog next week!

Leave a Reply

